Traveling in Boston

I write travel pieces for Taylor Magazine. I love compiling the pieces and creating adventure guides for those with wanderlust. It’s a London based magazine, so it’s really fun to have a global outreach with it!

I just wrote a piece about traveling in Boston, and let me just say- IT WAS SUCH A BLAST TO WRITE!! I loved looking back on my adventures had there, and being able to spread the word about delicious places and cool sites! To be honest though, I absolutely LOVED the research part of it!!! I had no idea about half of the stuff that I found, and it was so great to learn so much about the city. I actually had a hard time narrowing down what to include in the article! There are such unique things to do there, and I am so pumped to go on my next trip there, using the article I wrote!

You can check out my article using the anchor text… but I figured I would make you guys a list of must sees in the city! Traveling in Boston is seriously so underrated and deserves way more attention than it gets!

How to Adventure in Bean Town in no Particular Order:

  • Eat a giant, face sized piece of Oreo cheesecake at Mikes Pastry. They invented the Cannoli, so you should try those too… I say Oreo cheesecake because I had it and OMG my mind was completely blown it was so good!! I think it was share size for like three people, but I obviously had to devour that sucker solo cause dessert is not for sharing, you psychos!
  • Play candle-pin bowling at Sacco’s Bowl Haven. OKAY. So I have not done this myself but wow I was floored when I found this hidden gem (it took some serious digging and talking to some Bostonians on Boston forums haha cause wow the tourist scene is so loud). This place is actually a flatbread company, but they are creating the COOLEST twist on traditional bowling and pizza… CANDLE-PIN and FLATBREAD!!! Candle-pin bowling is a maritime tradition in Canada and New England… You really cannot find it elsewhere. Sacco’s is definitely a fantastic place to brush shoulders with true Bostonians- I doubt you will find fellow tourists traveling in Boston there. Also their flatbread looks INCREDIBLE, the decor is vintage in a real way, and I could not get over how clever and quirky the combo was! Honestly it looked like something out of an indie movie haha so I DEFINITELY have to check this out!
  • Tour Paul Revere’s HouseUm so I’m a big fan of the Revolutionary War… no scratch that… I AM A FREAK ABOUT IT. I will not get into that right now because there will be no stopping me and a ten page blog post lol so I will spare you all. Seeing Paul Revere’s home was one of the most exciting things I have ever done. The floors are original and you can just FEEL the heroism in there! Maybe it’s not your thing, and that’s okay… actually no it’s not- everyone should be forced to tour this place. It’s amazing. End of story. BONUS…it’s right next to Mike’s so you can grab dessert after (as if it couldn’t get more exciting!).
  • Eat sandwiches at Tatte Bakery and Cafe in the most aesthetic place ever. No joke- this place is covered in vines, dripping with things like art-deco era tile, fresh jam, white brick, buttery and flaky pastries, and TONS of natural light. Not to be that person, but it is most definitely gram worthy lol. I have never been but every review spoke of huge brunches, towering sandwiches, and the smoothest espresso ever so I definitely had to include it on here. My mouth was watering just looking at their photos!
  • Visit the The Institute of Contemporary Art at sunset! Again, I have not done this, but I have been right near it and can say that it is SUCH a pretty area of Boston! It’s harbor side and right near other museums and the aquarium, and the views are amazing. The museum itself apparently has LOADS of windows facing the water, so I feel like sunset would be prime for watching the sky and catching some incredible art in the process! The modern architecture, great deals on admission, and the fact that it is actually free every Thursday from 5-9 pm makes it ideal for sure! Their exhibits all look so cool also! I need to check this place out next time I’m traveling in Boston!
  • Board the USS Constitution (optional: dress up like a naval captain or pirate. I promise it automatically makes you cooler). I loved running around the decks here and seeing such an old and historic ship! It gave me really cool perspective from the naval heroes’ point of view in old Boston. The tour guides are SO NICE and don’t make you feel dumb for automatically thinking every old timey ship is suitable for a pretend pirate ship lol (yes I promise I am an adult).
  • Explore the old cemeteriesBoston is FULL of super creepy and cool graveyards. Their stones look ancient and are crumbling, and sometimes inscribed with eerie poems and wow I love them all. Who needs bar hopping when you can go cemetery hopping? (just kidding- bars are probably more fun but the cemeteries are great too…)
  • Wander through Quincy MarketI loved seeing all the cool stands and local art…but the FOOD is so damn good. The pizza bagels were insane, but I hear the Boston Cream Pie is to DIE FOR! Also I feel like eating Boston cream pie while in Boston should be on everyone’s bucket list.
  • Take photos at the Public LibraryNow I know this would require a train ride, as it is a bit out of the way, but it looks SO WORTH IT. It’s basically Hogwarts. No big deal. Seriously so photogenic!!!
  • Munch on some Union Square DoughnutsI’m sorry, I refuse to spell it “donuts”… are they made of “do”?! NO. They are made of “dough”. End of discussion. ANYWAYS…. I have not been here but the DOUGHnuts look soooo good! They are all so pretty, and will make even the most hesitant of foodies wanna snap a pic. Honestly they look perfect.
  • Get lost in the Beacon Hill neighborhoods. Check out the statehouse, quaint little eateries, and of course the gorgeous brick town homes on tree lined streets. This neighborhood is OLD and so cute! It is so perfect for wandering and discovering new book stores and coffee stops!
  • Ride a swan boat in the Public GardenIt looks and sounds like a fairy tale! Bordering their Central Park-esque, Boston Common, this would be so fun! I met a guy in Provincetown who lives in Boston and he LOVES the swans! He went on about how much fun it is in the summer and how magical it feels! I am definitely always down for a magical bird ride through a lake! *BONUS FACT* The Public Garden was the first botanical garden in the US, so yay for historic places and spaces!

There were loadssss more things of course, and I would LOVE to do any of them honestly, but those were definitely my faves! I am dying to get back up there and check a few of those off! Next time any of you guys are on the East Coast, make sure to swing by Boston because there is so much more than the stereotypical sites. What a haven for artsy activities!!

Cheers!

Em

Leave a comment