“Wear” My Closet Comes From

I’m sorry guys, I had to with the title:)

I have had a lot of people on Instagram asking me where I get my clothes lately, and I thought I would write a post on some faves!

Something to keep in mind- I am a BIG fan of thrift shops and hand me downs for three reasons…

  1. I like the idea that they have been loved, and had adventures and stories kind of woven into them. Cheesy? Maybe. But that’s me.
  2. It’s better for the earth. Use what is already here.
  3. The clothes will usually be a little more timeless, unique, or even vintage.

That in mind, I am excluding sources like my sisters’ closets, local thrift stores, and the dump. Kidding about that last one haha but in all seriousness check out your local thrift store for some really cool clothes with stories to tell. They usually have some killer flannels! ALSO sharing with your friends is always fun. In high school, my friend group and I used to swap clothes sometimes, and it was a fun way to wear something new!

So besides THOSE, here are some of my favorite clothing places:

  • TJ Maxx– So I love florals and flannels, and they usually have large varieties of both. Also they always have some super unique choices in lots of sizes! On top of that, think low prices:)
  • Creations for a Cause– I may be biased (I am a brand ambassador for these guys), but honestly they have the COOLEST stuff! I love their harem pants because A) they are in all colors and unique designs and B) they support different causes like saving the elephants or beach clean-up! For those who want a discount, go ahead and use “EmD15” at checkout:)
  • Billabong– I am obsessed with beach clothes… woven tops, colors, and anything with an ocean on it. I grew up loving the sea and going to the beach, so this store really makes me feel at home. Their stuff always LASTS which is environmentally friendly in itself (for those hippies out there like me who care).
  • Vans– Besides their shoes (my go to’s), their clothes are also sooooo cute! Again, super beachy!
  • LL Bean– This is where I have gotten my favorite flannels and jean jackets! Their stuff is geared towards the outdoors, and their colors are lovely (pine, seafoam, tan, etc). I also love their socks! And shoes! And pants! Okay just all of it. PS They have a petite section people!!!! #midgetsunite
  • REI– I love their winter hats, sweaters, socks, and cloth pants! Everything is super comfy, adventure friendly, and they even have a big yoga section! Sidenote- I love any outdoor store for clothing. They are always overlooked as far as clothing goes, but they usually have awesome flannels, sweaters, and artsy shirts!
  • American Eagle, Forever 21, LOFT, Kohls, H&M– So their stuff is usually very mainstream and temporary, and usually don’t last very well, but I mean sometimes I find a lovely floral piece, pair of woven pants, affordable flannel, or seventies esque clothing. Sometimes their products overlap my taste, and although their stuff isn’t super original or high quality, some of it is pretty:) ALSO H & M does a ton of really cool charity work, so I love to support them when I can!
  • Francesca’s– This brand is starting to get more attention, but they are a dreamy store full of knit tops, flowery pieces, and beaded clothing. I love a lot of their jewelry, and it’s where I love going when I need something dressier.

I really love not having too many clothes, because honestly I just wear the same five things. I am pretty low maintenance when it comes to clothes, but when I want to do a shoot, or get some shopping money, those places are definitely my go to’s!

As far as my style goes, and methodology- I never match (florals and stripes and plaid all together), every color combo is welcome, I need to be comfy, and there are no rules… so I guess my methodology is that I don’t have one:)

Make your own rules, wear things that bring you to your happy place, hand me downs should be the rule not the exception, and wearing your favorite colors makes you feel good. That’s all I have to say about that.

Cheers!

Em

3 thoughts on ““Wear” My Closet Comes From

  1. Pingback: Why We Need to Know Ourselves a Little Better – EmFallingToEarth

Leave a comment